Wilson ready for rush of voters

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Voting machines, voting carrels, printers and laptops were distributed Monday to 24 polling places in Wilson County in preparation for Tuesday’s midterm election.

“They are hustling,” said Wilson County Elections Director Rená Morris as two trucks traversed the county to deliver the voting equipment.

Tiffany Williams and David Thorne, building maintenance workers for Wilson County, were on one of the trucks going to 15 of the voting precincts within the city of Wilson.

“We’re pretty much going in circles,” Williams said after a drop-off at the Reid Community Center.

“It’s very important for our democratic process,” Thorne said. “This is my second time. We do this every primary and every election. We pride ourselves in what we do. Any type of an election is important. I don’t care who you are or what you vote for, just vote.”

Morris said county Board of Elections workers were extremely busy answering phone calls, handing out supplies to precinct officials, delivering equipment and making absentee printouts for elections officials of folks who have voted early.


According to Morris, there were 15,617 early voters in Wilson County.

“That surpasses our 2014 amount by over 4,000 people,” Morris said. “Some 11,267 voted in 2014 in Wilson County.”

Wilson County has 56,675 registered eligible voters. That includes 29,329 Democrats, 13,600 Republicans, 13,567 unaffiliated voters and 171 Libertarians.

Morris said there were 303 people who registered during early voting and 707 voters who updated their registration information during that period.

“I still think we will have above average turnout for a midterm,” Morris said.


Polling places will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Morris said mid-morning and mid-afternoon will be the best times to avoid long lines.

“A lot of people are going to be going first thing in the morning before they go to work, so I would probably think that mid-morning would be a good time or mid-afternoon before school gets out because then you have got parents picking up their school kids and they, a lot of times will go vote and them of course at 5 o’clock, everybody who is working will go after they get off work,” Morris said. “Voters who are in line at 7:30 p.m., one of the precinct officials will go out to that last person who got in line at 7:30 and take names forward and those people in line at 7:30 will be allowed to vote.”

Morris encourages people to call if they are unsure of where they are supposed to go. The Board of Elections phone number is 252-399-2836.

To check voter registration status and polling place online, visit https://vt.ncsbe.gov/RegLkup/.

When arriving at the polling place, photo identification is not necessary for the majority of voters.

“All they have to do is state their name and address,” Morris said. “For a first-time voter who may not have presented identification when they registered, there is a handful of those that would have to show their identification.”


Morris said between 125 and 135 poll workers will be volunteering at the following 24 polling places in Wilson County.

• Wilson Precinct A: Wilson County Public Library, 249 W. Nash St., Wilson

• Wilson Precinct B: Laddie T. Bell Community Center, 633 S Walnut St., Wilson

• Wilson Precinct C: Vandahlia H. Reid Community Center, 502 Parkview St., Wilson

• Wilson Precinct D: City of Wilson Recreation Center, 500 Sunset Road, Wilson

• Wilson Precinct E: Toisnot Middle School, 1301 Corbett Ave., Wilson

• Wilson Precinct H: Elvie Resource Center, 1008 Railroad St., Wilson

• Wilson Precinct I: Wilson County Agricultural Center, 1806 S. Goldsboro St., Wilson

• Wilson Precinct J: Wilson County Health Department, 1801 Glendale Drive, Wilson

• Wilson Precinct K: Forest Hills Presbyterian Church, 1100 Forest Hills Road NW, Wilson

• Wilson Precinct L: Fire Station No. 4, 200 Forest Hills Road NW, Wilson

• Wilson Precinct M: Wells Elementary School, 1400 Grove St., Wilson

• Wilson Precinct N: Darden Alumni Center, 1600 Lipscomb Road, Wilson

• Wilson Precinct P: Forest Hills Middle School, 1210 Forest Hills Road, Wilson

• Wilson Precinct Q: American Legion, 700 New Bern St., Wilson

• Wilson Precinct R: Reid Street Community Center, 901 Reid St., Wilson

• Black Creek Precinct: Black Creek Community Center, 103 Privette St., Black Creek

• Crossroads Precinct: Lucama Fire Station, 102 Grove St., Lucama

• Gardners Precinct: Gardners School, 5404 N.C. 42 E., Elm City

• Oldfields Precinct: Sims Volunteer Rural Fire Dept., 6217 U.S. 264 Alternate W., Sims

• Saratoga Precinct: Sanoca Fire Station, 6903 Church St., Saratoga

• Spring Hill Precinct: St. Mary’s Club Community Building, 7344 N.C. 581, Lucama

• Stantonsburg Precinct: Stantonsburg/Moyton Fire Station, 105 N. Saratoga St., Stantonsburg

• Taylors Precinct: New Hope School, 4826 Packhouse Road, Wilson

• Toisnot Precinct: Frederick Douglass Elementary School, 5544 Lake Wilson Road, Elm City


In addition to several statewide judicial contests, there are a number of local, state and federal races in which Wilson County voters can cast ballots.

• For U.S. House of Representatives District 1, incumbent G.K. Butterfield, a Democrat, faces a challenge from Roger W. Allison, a Republican.

• For U.S. House of Representatives District 2, incumbent George Holding, a Republican, is opposed by Linda Coleman, a Democrat, and Jeff Matemu, a Libertarian.

• For N.C. Senate District 4, incumbent Milton F. “Toby” Fitch Jr., a Democrat, faces Richard Scott, a Republican, and Jesse Shearin, a Libertarian.

• For N.C. House of Representatives District 24, incumbent Jean Farmer-Butterfield, a Democrat, faces a challenge from Ken Fontenot, who is unaffiliated.

• In the district attorney race in the 8th Prosecutorial District, incumbent Robert Evans is unopposed.

• The Wilson County Board of Commissioners has seven unopposed candidates, including Leslie T. Atkinson, District 1; Sherry L. Lucas, District 2; JoAnne Daniels, District 3; Roger Lucas, District 4; Rob Boyette, District 5; Chris Hills, District 6; and Bill Blackman, District 7.

• In the race for Wilson County sheriff, incumbent Calvin Woodard Jr., a Democrat, faces challenger Kevin Raper, a Republican.

• The Wilson County Board of Education has three newcomers vying for the District 7 seat. The candidates are Rhyan Breen, Stephanie Cyrus and Wayne Willingham.

• Three unopposed candidates are running to retain their seats on the Wilson County Board of Education, including Debora Powell, District 1; Christine L. Fitch, District 3; and Beverly Page Boyette, District 5.

• For Wilson County Soil and Water Conservation District supervisor, incumbents Bryan Lamm and Gary D. Scott are running to retain their seats and are unopposed.