Wilson Christian cross-country teams sweep their Pumpkin Run

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Facing a field of 19 schools and over 300 total runners, both Wilson Christian cross-country teams successfully defended their home course with team victories in the third annual Pumpkin Run.

With four runners accounting for a team score in each event, the WCA boys used a quartet of top-11 finishes to amass 25 points and eke past the 31 of Raleigh Friendship Christian.

Community Christian was third with 40 followed by Wilmington Christian (92), Alamance Christian (102), Lee Christian (133), Chocowinity Unity Christian (145), Rocky Mount Academy (149) and Goldsboro Faith Christian (234).

On the girls side, the individual performances were led by Community Christian senior Morgan Lane, who was second in a time of 21:32.56. The sixth-place time of Caitlyn Barnes in 22:35.47 paced the Lady Chargers, who rallied off four top-15 showings to win the team title.

WCA subdued Alamance Christian and Wayne Christian, both with 58 points, in the girls’ standings. CCS was fourth at 79 as Fayetteville Berean Baptist Academy (110) and Wilmington Christian (130) rounded out the field.

The Wilson Christian boys, who posted an average finishing time of 19:04 for its top four runners, were represented by Christian McFarland (3rd, 17:59.17), Ethan Williams (4th, 19:12.51), Seth Turner (7th, 19:26.27) and Seth Trull (11th, 19:40.17).

Caleb Daniels (16th, 20:50.26), Noah Daniels (24th, 21:38.96) and Thomas Lane (38th, 22:35.74) paced CCS.

Rocky Mount Academy’s Henry Forrester won the boys event in 17:47.14.

For the Lady Chargers, Barnes was supplemented in the girls race by Ocean Reece (9th, 24:07.55), Mackenzie Mosley (13th, 24:46.12) and Katie Glover (15th, 24:56.45). Kaitlyn Manning (27th, 26:43.21) Laura Bradley (50th, 31:41.31) and Loreli Ferguson (52nd, 32:19.85) were the top four for CCS.

Lucia Ghandi of Alamance Christian was the girls individual champion, finishing in 21:28.68.

Individual awards were presented to the top 10 runners in each race.