Stenborg, Buck-Lowman extend Barton tradition of all-conference selections

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


BANNER ELK — Bobby Stenborg, a 6-foot-4 junior, and Isaiah Buck-Lowman, a 6-6 sophomore, have extended the Barton College men’s basketball all-conference tradition to 18 years.

Stenborg, a Garner product and a transfer from Brunswick Community College, was proclaimed first-team All-Conference Carolinas during a league brunch Saturday held in conjuction with the league tournament.

Buck-Lowman, from Woodbridge, Virginia, was a third-team selection. Stenborg and Buck-Lowman each received all-Conference Carolinas recognition for the first time.

Stenborg ranks No. 2 in the conference in field-goal percentage (60.5), fifth in scoring (16.5 points per game), and 12th in rebounding (6.0). He scored in double figures in 24 of his 29 games and surpassed the 20-point plateau on nine occasions.

Buck-Lowman’s 13.5 average is 13th best in the conference, while his 5.7 rebounds stand 14th. The forward has netted 10 or more points in 22 of 30 outings and, on four occasions, has tossed in 20 or more points.

Both players performed better than their norms in conference games. Stenborg produced 17-plus points per game against league opponents and Buck-Lowman nearly 15.

Stenborg is joined on the first team by Jordan Floyd of King, Lepreece Lynch of Lees-McRae, Kenny Hairston of Limestone and DeQuan Abrom of Belmont Abbey.

Comprising the second team are King’s Je’Don Young and Mack Owens, Erskine’s Austin Venable, Mount Olive’s Jamaal Matin and North Greenville’s Daniel Burchette.

Buck-Lowman is situated on the third team with Dominique Tham of Mount Olive, Jason Saintizaire of Lees-McRae, Justice McCullough of Southern Wesleyan and Jordan Turner of Lees-McRae.

Seizing individual awards: Floyd, player of the year; Matin, defensive player of the year; Lees-McRae’s Quay Kimble, freshman of the year; and Lees-McRae’s Steve Hardin, coach of the year.