Nash UNC Health Care names nursing scholars

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


ROCKY MOUNT — Eighteen aspiring nursing students currently enrolled at Nash and Edgecombe community colleges have signed on with the Nash UNC Nurse Scholars Program after an Oct. 17 signing day at Nash UNC Health Care.

The second annual Nurse Scholars Signing Day included a ceremony where selected nursing students officially sign on with the program, which funds the cost of each student’s education, tuition and books, for up to two years, and includes a monthly stipend for high-achieving students pursuing an associate degree in nursing.

To qualify for the Nurse Scholars Program, applicants are required to be enrolled in a nursing program at Nash Community College or Edgecombe Community College, have a 3.0 grade-point average, provide two letters of recommendation and submit a personal statement about their commitment to nursing. In addition to meeting academic requirements at the community college, nurse scholars will be engaged in mentoring relationships and social events to help cultivate relationships with the Nash UNC Health Care team.

“The Nash UNC Nurse Scholars Program identifies, encourages and offers financial assistance to promising students,” Dr. Crystal Hayden, chief nursing officer at Nash UNC, said in a news release. “It also offers immediate hiring upon graduation. In return, nurse scholars will be committed to work full time as a registered nurse at Nash UNC Health Care for up to three years.”

Student nurses awarded scholarships during their first year of study include Leslie “Erin” Lewis, Jamie Hogan, Latesha Wilkins, Kaila Boulden, Jessica Powell, Brooke Pollard, Trevon Evans, Christopher Mercer, Victoria Dancy and Tyesha Allen.

Student nurses already in their second year of study receiving the scholarship include Keondra Autry, Cheryl Hill, Haley Kitchen, Latisha Boddie, Keshauna Braswell, Shanietra Johnson, Cailyn Briley and Bethany Parrish.

“Another rewarding component of this program is the naming of each scholarship honoree. Nash UNC employees and volunteers — past, present or deceased — may be nominated by fellow employees to have a scholarship established in their name honoring their outstanding service for this hospital,” said Katie Davison, executive director of human resources for Nash UNC.

Scholarship honorees recognized in this year’s program are Dr. Michael Sunderman, Melissa Johnson, Rachel Sutton, Shirley Sanders, Ryan Griffin, Deborah Brewer, Vivian Hooks, Sandra Brown, Karen Joyner, Ivelisse Ruiz, Mary Strickland, Cheryle Traish, Cindy Worthy, Walter Scott, Kimberly Riddick, Dr. Vincent Andracchio, Joann Lewis and Sommer Griffin.