Lady Vikings win Southern Bank cross-country invitational

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


ROCKY MOUNT — Bolstered by four runners finishing in the top 20, the Elm City girls cross-country team kicked won the 11-team Southern Bank Invitational, held Tuesday on the Red Oak Middle course.

Comprised of teams competing in the Tricounties Athletic Conference, Elm City outpointed Wilson County rival Springfield 75-96 to win the team title. Following were Rocky Mount Edwards (108), Forest Hills (124), Southern Nash (130), Red Oak (133), Toisnot (139), Speight (152), Nash Central (177) and South Edgecombe (252).

CeCe Johnson led the way for Elm City, finishing third in a time of 15:40.09 in the 107-runner field. She was supplemented by the top-20 runs of Willa Boyer (8th, 16:33.18), Zoe Mitchell (10th, 16:35.09) and Emma Grace Spencer (18th, 17:05.78). Katie Ash, who finished 37th in 18:46.38, was Elm City’s fifth scoring runner.

Springfield picked up a trio of finishers in the top 20, led by Ashton Frazier’s seventh-place run in 16:30.56. Mack Bunn was 13th in 16:56:03, with Presley Frazier in 19th with a time of 17:23.59. Emma Robbins was 24th in 17:41.09 for the Lady Wildcats.

Sixth-place Toisnot had two top-10 finishers in Tierney Powers (6th, 16:28.94) and Chloe Simpson (9th, 16:33.46). Abigail Macedo’s 11th-place showing in 16:48.50 led the Cobras of Southern Nash.

Forest Hills, which finished ninth, was led at the top by two top-five showings, with Valeria Zarate and Katelyn Davis finishing back-to-back. Zarate was fourth in 16:06.28, with Davis in fifth at 16:10.97.
Star Anderson’s 22nd-place run in 17:34.44 was first across the line for Speight.
Nash Central’s Camryn Eley won the race in 15:29.15.

In the boy’s race, Elm City finished a distant second to host Red Oak, as the Vikings collected 102 points to Red Oak’s 42.

Following were Edwards (118), Springfield (126), West Edgecombe (143),Toisnot (147), Southern Nash (150), Nash Central (152), Forest Hills (249), Speight (264) and South Edgecombe (282).

Elm City had two runners in the top 25 of the 151-runner field, with Devin Whitehead finishing fifth in 12:48.91. David Telfer was 22nd in 14:19.91.
Fourth-place Springfield was paced by Vences Mondragon in 14th with a time of 13:41.44 and the 18th-place run of Alex Ellis (14:04.28).

Alex Porto-Reyes turned in a sixth-place time of 12:51.72 to lead Speight.
Forest Hills and Toisnot were led by Barrett Klutey (12th, 13:34.59) and Shyquan Baker (20th, 14:12.50), respectively.

Logan Saunders of Southern Nash won the race in 12:07.28, part of a one-two Cobras finish with Wilfran Sanchez (12:19.06).