District attorney, commissioners’ chairwoman file for re-election

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Two public officials representing Wilson filed for re-election on Wednesday, including District Attorney Robert Evans.

Evans is seeking his third term to represent the 7th Prosecutorial District, which encompasses Wilson, Nash and Edgecombe counties.

“It has been my great privilege to serve the citizens of this district and it is my sincere hope that they will see fit to allow me to continue this important and challenging work,” Evans said in a news release.

Wilson County Board of Commissioners Chairwoman Bobbie D. Jones also filed Wednesday for another term to represent District 3.

“I will continue to put forth a strong effort to ensure fairness, justice, equality and a better way of life for all of the people of Wilson County,” she said in a release.

In Nash County, Linda Thorne filed to run for clerk of court while James D. Gailliard is running again for House District 25. Gailliard is a pastor at Word Tabernacle Church in Rocky Mount, but was unsuccessful in his last bid for a seat in the General Assembly.

In Edgecombe County, Claiborne Holtzman is running against incumbent state Rep. Shelly Willingham for District 23. Holtzman, a Rocky Mount business owner, has unsuccessfully run for public office before.

Filing for the May primary continues through noon on Feb. 28.