DAR honors Wilson County high school students

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


The Daughters of the American Revolution’s Thomas Hadley Chapter held its annual George Washington Day luncheon on Feb. 22 to honor American history, good citizen and Junior ROTC winners from Wilson County high schools.

Founded in 1890, the DAR is a women’s service organization dedicated to promoting historic preservation, education, patriotism and remembering the patriots of the American Revolution. Every DAR member is a direct descendent of a patriot who participated in the American revolution. The national motto is, “God, Home and Country.”

The DAR national headquarters in Washington offers to the public a genealogical library, decorative arts museum, historic document collection and concert hall. Any woman who is 18 or older may apply for membership by providing acceptable documentation for lineal bloodline descent from an ancestor who aided in achieving American independence.

Because membership in the Daughters of the American Revolution is based on lineal, bloodline descent, legitimacy is not considered in the determination of eligibility of an applicant.


The DAR American History Award is a national honor given to promote interest in the study of American history and to recognize those students who do so by high academic achievement, special projects and extra readings or otherwise exhibit an interest in and appreciation for United States history.

The American History Award winners are:

• Belinda Woodard, E.T. Beddingfield High School.

• Kayla Farmer, Community Christian School.

• Elijah Pope, Ralph L. Fike High School.

• Jerry Zemble, Greenfield School.

• Kirklan Naumuk, James B. Hunt High School.

• Madison Carnes, Wilson Christian Academy.

• Ezra Chapa, Wilson Early College Academy.


The DAR Good Citizen award, started in 1936, is given at the chapter level, then goes to the district, the state, region, and finally the national level. Each school may honor only one senior class student per year as its DAR Good Citizen.

The student selected as the school’s DAR Good Citizen must exhibit dependability, service, leadership and patriotism. Many hours are given in volunteer service to award-winners’ school, community and state.

Each school’s DAR Good Citizen receives a DAR Good Citizen pin, certificate and wallet recognition card. This student is then eligible, if he or she wishes, to enter the DAR Good Citizens Scholarship Contest.

The Thomas Hadley Chapter presented the 2019-20 Good Citizen Award to the following students:

• Belinda Carol Woodard, E.T. Beddingfield High School.

• Sara Elizabeth Perry, Community Christian School.

• Gabriel Owen Cox, Ralph L. Fike High School (first-place District VIII essay winner and Thomas Hadley Chapter winner).

• Kimberly Jade Pridgen, Greenfield School.

• Chase Denton, James B. Hunt High School.

• Madison Carnes Gardner, Wilson Christian Academy.

• John Patrick Sullivan, Wilson Early College Academy.


The DAR began awarding medals to ROTC students in 1967 in recognition of the ROTC as an important program that prepares trained officers for service in the armed forces.

ROTC medals are awarded to student cadets of outstanding ability and achievement in high school, junior college, college, or university ROTC programs of the Army, Navy, Air Force and Marine Corps. Medal recipients are selected by the professors of military science and the principals of the school.

Recipients must have demonstrated loyalty and patriotism and earned a record of military and scholastic achievement during their participation in an ROTC program.

Students must be in the upper 25% of their classes in ROTC and in academic subjects.

They must have shown qualities of dependability and good character, adherence to military discipline, leadership ability and a fundamental and patriotic understanding of the importance of ROTC training.

The Bronze ROTC Medal is awarded to either a junior or senior student in a secondary school JROTC program, or to a junior college student. The Thomas Hadley Chapter awarded the Bronze JROTC Medal to:

• Marisol Arellano-Sanchez, E.T. Beddingfield High School.

• Cadet Khalil Eatmon, Ralph L. Fike High School.

• Lt. Col. Chase Denton, James B. Hunt High School.