Community Briefs: Wilson Doughnut Shop fundraiser supports Special Olympics

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Special Olympics and the Wilson Doughnut Shop will host the fourth annual scram breakfast fundraiser from 6 a.m. to noon Saturday, March 2 at the 525 Tarboro St. bakery and restaurant.

The breakfast is $5 and will include scrambled sausage, egg and cheese with diners’ choice of bread and drink. All proceeds go to Wilson County Special Olympics. This year’s Special Olympics is April 18 at Hunt High School.

GOP plans convention, precinct meetings

The Wilson County Republican Party will hold its annual convention and precinct meetings at 10 a.m. Saturday, March 9 on the third floor of the Wilson County Courthouse. All registered Republicans are invited to attend.

Alumni association plans dance party

The Speight High Alumni Association will have a “Blast from the Past”-themed Soul Train dance party from 7 p.m. to midnight Saturday, March 9 at the Darden Alumni Center, 1600 Lipscomb Road.

Music will be provided by Easy-B. Tickets are $15 in advance or $20 at the door. For tickets or more information, call 252-289-0220, 252-674-7496 or 252-234-2862.

Church to hold barbecue plate sale

ELM CITY — Refuge Trinity Holiness Church, 6108 Justin Trail, will hold a barbecue plate sale from noon to 6:30 p.m. Friday, March 15.

Plates are $8 each and will include barbecue, slaw, green beans, potatoes, roll and dessert. Proceeds will be used to send the church youth group to a conference in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee.

Tickets must be purchased by Friday, March 8. To order tickets, call Lori Parrish at 252-265-7850.

Bridge club announces results

Wilson Duplicate Club winners for Feb. 19, North/South, are Sue Wilson and Tommy Franklin, first; Sallie and Tom Cozart, second; Janice Humphrey and Karen Pullen, third; and Helen Paszek and Carolyn Griffin, fourth. East/West winners are Judy and Sim Wooten, first; Nancy Thompson and Jerry Woodard, second; Betty Jon Smith and Agnes Cherry, third; Margo and George Thompson, fourth; and Carolyn Harmon and Phyllis Winstead, fifth.

Winners for Feb. 21 are Nancy Thompson and Ann Ipock, first; Carolyn Griffin, second; Mial Woodard and Agnes Cherry, third; Frank Eagles and Janet Gresham, fourth; Martha Walston and Jeff Gates, fifth; and Katie Covington and Betty Jon Smith, sixth.