Bulldogs’ Beatson, Monells tabbed All-CC

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


HIGH POINT — Junior midfielder Tolly Beatson and freshman forward Pol Monells were honored as Barton College’s representatives on the 2017 NCAA Division II All-Conference Carolinas men’s soccer team announced by the league Friday.

Both Bulldogs were second-team selections. All-conference acclaim was extended to Beatson for the second time. He was a third-team selection as a freshman.

Awards were presented Friday in a ceremony in conjunction with the conference tournament — for which Barton did not qualify.

From London, England, Beatson paced the Bulldogs and ranked fifth in the league with seven assists. He also scored three goals, amassing 13 points. Beatson recorded three of his assists in the same match, a 3-2 conference win against Emmanuel (Georgia) College.

The beneficiary of Beatson’s three assists against Emmanuel was Monells, who posted his first collegiate hat trick (three goals). The product of Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain, ranked fourth in Conference Carolinas in goals scored with a team-high nine. Monells also doled out three assists for a total of 21 points — which ranked fifth in the league.

Lees-McRae’s Tom Deeley was proclaimed player of the year, while Patrick Kibler of Belmont Abbey was tabbed defensive player of the year. Lees-McRae also claimed the freshman of the year in Johannes Oeksnevad, while John Keating of Belmont Abbey was honored as coach of the year.

Chosen to the first team were forwards Sebastian Loibl of the University of Mount Olive, Ruairi Croskery of Limestone, Pol Vassart of Lees-McRae and Grant Kiker of Southern Wesleyan; midfielders Deeley, Noah Sale of Limestone and Juan Villa of Belmont Abbey; defenders Jamie Smith of Limestone, Harvey McMorrow of Lees-McRae and James Scott of Chowan; and goalkeeper Thomas Osborne of Limestone.

Joining Beatson and Monells on the second team were forwards Oeksnevad and Terell Williamson of Chowan; midfielders Gareth Greene of North Greenville, Luca Thuyl of Limestone and Carl Kennedy of Chowan; defenders Dominic Boland of Limestone, Javier Anton of Limestone and Toby Sims of Chowan; and goalkeeper Miguel Uribe of Southern Wesleyan.

Forming the third team were forwards Mark Trompeter of Belmont Abbey, Dimitsri Ney of Limestone and Lee Wattan of Chowan; midfielders Nathan Watt of Lees-McRae, Josh Baker of Chowan and Faber Bickerstaffs of King; defenders Kibler, Nando Morales of Belmont Abbey, Ben Allan of King and James Morgan of Lees-McRae; and goalkeeper Wes Holifield of Belmont Abbey.