AREA GOLF ROUNDUP: 30th Wilson Luncheon Lions superball winners announced

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


The Viewpointe and Weapons of Grass Destruction teams seized top flight honors in the recent 30th annual Wilson Luncheon Lions benefit superball golf tournament at Willow Springs Country Club.

Penny Carroll, Travis Smith, Grady Fulghum and Frank Wocher formed the Viewpointe team that prevailed in the First Flight.

The Weapons of Grass Destruction team, triumphant in the Second Flight, consisted of Mark Piper, Chris Davis, Paul Burleson and Brian Roberts.

The Steve Fine & Friends quartet of Fine, Chuck Jarman, Adam Ward and Michael Soluri emerged the First Flight runner-up, while placing second in the Second Flight was the Scalded Dogs team of Dana Harrell, Chris Davis, Matt Karst and Mark Piper.

Because of morning and afternoon tee times, golfers were able to play on more than one four-member team.

Hitting their tee shots closest to the designated pin were Fine on Nos. 5 and 18, Allen Letchworth on Nos. 7 and 12 and Karst on No.10.

Capturing the long-drive prizes were Carroll in the women’s division and Jack Schimick among the men’s competitors.

Proceeds benefit various Luncheon Lions projects.

WCC quartet claims Willow Springs Four-Lady Superball

The Wilson Country Club quartet of Patch Wilkinson, Beth Rhyne, Lisa Matthews and Prisicilla Brewer scorched the par 36-35—71 Willow Springs Country Club layout with a superball round of 14-under-par 57 to fire the low round in the Willow Springs Women’s Golf Association Four-Lady Superball tournament last Saturday.

The WCC team prevailed in the first of two flights.

Capturing low gross in the second flight was the foursome of Cathy Causway, Lucille Stolo, Carol Bryant and Sallie Kearns with a 65.

In the first flight, the team of Lynne Cates, Harriet Bennett, Susan Hairfield and Brenda Gilbert carded low net with a 50.8. Claiming second low gross was the group of Susan McGuire, Joyce Sealey, Nancy Oakley and Debbie Webb with a 61. Taking second low net was the squad of Mary Ann Sutton, Pat Capps, Carol Owens and Sandra Holland with a 54.4.

Winning low net in the second flight with a 56.1 was the team of Susan Counterman, Jennifer Counterman, Sandy Sadler and Linda Vick.

Mary Ann Carver, Debbie French, Deidra Testrake and Carol Lovette teamed for second low gross of 67, while second low net was won by Linda Johnson, Antho Moody, Peggy Hall and Gerry Dunham with a 58.